U8 cultural heritage

What is heritage?

It is a set of tangible and intangible goods that belong to the cultural identity of a group. In 1972, UNESCO published a new classification of cultural assets:

• Monuments: architecture, sculpture, painting, archaeology, caverns, inscriptions, elements of universal value from the point of view of history, art or science.  

•Sets: groups of constructions, whose architecture and integration with the landscape give them exceptional value from the historical, art or science point of view.  

•Places: works of man and nature with universal value from the historical, aesthetic, ethnological or anthropological point of view 

The following are considered cultural assets (tangible or intangible): monumental architecture, works of art, military and defensive architecture, witnesses of industrial production, witnesses to agricultural culture, witnesses to the gastronomic culture, etc. 

Why presenving heritage?

Preserving is important so as not to perser our values of cultural identity. Imagine Valencia without Fallas, one of its biggest parties, would be horrible, right?

What we have to preserve?

We must protect the physical part of the building, its colors, character shapes, materials, etc. But it is also important to keep alive the value that falls on the architectural heritage, history, antiquity, art…

How to preserve?

There are two forms, with harmful instruments (such as laws, inventories, catalogs) or intervention actions (maintenance, repairs, renovation, adaptation or reconstruction, restoration, etc.).